CARICOM and OECS Benefits Include Living in COVID Free Locations

The proliferation of COVID-19 in rich countries has induced a global migration of digital nomads. In response, exotic locales that were pre-COVID tourist meccas are issuing “digital nomad visas”. It sounds so enticing! But before committing, explore the better alternative hiding in plain sight.

To escape COVID-19, oppressive income tax and high inner city rental rates Caribbean citizenship by investment is the practical solution. A Caribbean passport grants investors the opportunity to choose their own tropical paradise.

Contrary to popular belief, thanks to their CARICOM and OECS membership status, residency options for Caribbean citizens are not limited to the country where they acquired citizenship.

Furthermore, Caribbean citizenship benefits include no tax on overseas income, high levels of visa free global access plus financial security. For those who seek a permanent solution, renunciation of your current citizenship is also possible.

Digital Nomads Seek Protection From COVID-19

The best Caribbean locations feature low population densities which is ideal for social distancing. Additionally, the Caribbean countries with the best run citizenship by investment programs have also rapidly contained the virus.

In contrast, countries such as Barbados who are leading the charge in issuing digital nomad visas have high infection rates compared to the best CBI countries.

Caribbean CountryActive CasesTotal Infections
Saint Kitts and Nevisnone34

Indeed, digital nomads must choose their remote working location carefully. Lest they get trapped in exactly what they were trying to escape in the first place.

Saint Kitts and Nevis, Dominica and Grenada have already reopened their borders to COVID free tourists. In fact, my associate at Jungle Bay Eco Villas, Dominica informs me they are currently welcoming guests participating in Dominica’s travel bubble.  

Caribbean Citizenship Benefits Include Rights of Indefinite Stay

Economically speaking, the Caribbean countries are a tightly integrated community. As a result, similar to interstate travel rights in the US and Schengen area, Caribbean countries give preferential access to their neighbors in order to encourage trade and economic growth.

The two Caribbean organizations that facilitate economic integration are the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) and the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

Both of these membership organizations provide the framework for interstate travel between participating Caribbean countries. Signatories have implemented the changes and reaped the economic benefits from freedom of movement.

Special Access to Independent Countries Inside the OECS

There are eleven Caribbean countries forming the OECS. To clarify, six of the eleven OECS members are “independent countries”. This means that they are independent sovereigns and not overseas territories of the UK or France.

These six independent countries are Antigua and Barbuda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Dominica, Grenada plus Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. Those holding Caribbean citizenship from one of the independent countries can enter any of the five remaining independent countries for a period of indefinite stay.

Upon entry they are only required to produce their Caribbean passport or valid photo ID card bearing the nationality of the holder e.g. drivers license. There is no visa requirement, upcoming visa renewals or risk of double taxation.

The remaining OECS members include the British Virgin Islands, Montserrat and Anguilla which remain overseas territories of the UK. Plus, Martinique and Guadeloupe are regions of France. Extended visa free access is available to citizens of the OECS independent countries. However, special permission may be necessary for indefinite stay.

Special Access to Member States of CARICOM

All of the six OECS independent countries are also CARICOM members. Therefore, Caribbean passport holders of these six OECS countries have the right of free movement per the OECS agreement and also CARICOM. 

The remaining six countries (non-OECS) that are signatories of the CARICOM agreement for the purpose of free movement include Belize, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, Suriname plus Trinidad and Tobago.

Citizens of any of the 12 participating CARICOM countries have the right to live and work inside any of the other 12 CARICOM countries.

However, a caveat under the CARICOM agreement is that you must have a CSME skills certificate (work permit) for indefinite stay. As such, the CARICOM agreement does not allow freedom of movement to only obtain residency, it must also be for economic purposes.

Nonetheless, under the CARICOM agreement citizens of member countries (without a work permit) have 180 days visa free access inside other CARICOM countries. Additionally, by exiting the country every six months and reentering, digital nomads can indefinitely renew the six month visa free period. This would be the equivalent of indefinite stay.

Caribbean Citizenship Benefits with iGlobal

Caribbean citizenship benefits provide the means to protect your family, your wealth and your freedom. iGlobal is well integrated locally and we have a combined 35+ years of experience working with the Caribbean citizenship by investment programs plus Vanuatu. Contact me today to ensure your application is processed with optimal efficiency at the lowest possible cost.